Art imitates life

Today Rob was telling me about a conservative alcoholic grandmother that got on the bus today (a la Wedding Crashers) and made his day.  It got me to thinking about people that have no filter period in public.  How does someone feel no shame, and where does that feeling start? For me, I feel embarrassment at being too loud in public, people staring at me, or singing out loud for no reason.  If it’s not for performance purposes and just for the sake of being weird, I don’t understand it.

It reminds me of a friend of mine who is the kind of guy who will talk to strangers on the Subway when they clearly don’t want to be talked to.  The feeling of “Just shut up and let them be” that I was experiencing was so strong, it was almost like fight or flight.  After doing a quick search, I have the answer.  Selfishness and lack of consideration for the public.  At least it makes life interesting I guess.

Work was still tar filled today, but my students were good and I got to work on festival material.  I still don’t know what I’m going to do about next week as I have students in the festival while I am working.  I guess I’ll have to get a sub, even though I don’t want to give up those days.  I suppose it balances out with the accompanying fees but still…

I also filed one of my client’s taxes today.  One down, another to go.  And it took hardly any time at all! I really do love organizing people’s lives.  I really need to get back into my personal assistant job.

Leave a comment