Waiting for tonight

Tonight was pretty great.  Had a slow start, but once it got going it was fun.

Started off the evening with ballet and then rushed home to get changed.  I was waiting for a text from my date to see what time they were going to get into Toronto, and the time changed from 10 to 11, and then they got in at midnight.  I was a bit annoyed because I could of hung out with my friend after all during that time, but whatever.  It gave me a chance to rest and mentally prepare for the marathon of events coming my way.  Drunk people, am I right?

So I picked them up from downtown (after a bit of stumbling around for directions) and we headed up to the village.  Our original plan was to go to Crews, but the lineup was ridiculous (and it was a bit cold out), so we went to Woody’s instead where they were having the usual Best Ass Contest.  So everyone got their drinks, we found a table very close to the action (strangely) and watch the contest, which was a shit show.  They got 3 people up to the stage willingly, and two others that were very drunk and kinda didn’t wanna be there.  The last guy was so drunk he couldn’t even take his pants off without some help.  It was sad and hilarious.  In the end, a cute twink who was there with his bf of 3 years won.  It was really sweet and a subversion of the trope that muscle guys always win those things.

After the contest was over, we stayed there and danced.  My one friend (who I visited in Hamilton originally) was fine with me leaving him by his lonesome to go dance with everyone (my date, his best friend and my friend’s roommate), but I could tell it kind of bothered him.  My date and I tried to keep things on the down low as much as we could, but I can tell that even just me being there was a bit annoying to my friend.  He has some drama issues he needs to work out I think.  My date went all out with his dancing, as did his best friend (who is super sweet and awesome.  She knows how to have a good time, love it!) and we all had fun dancing and laughing at various drunk people.

Near the end of the night, we were sitting at a different table and my friend’s roommate got checked out by another guy nearby.  So my date did what any good wingman would do and brought him to our table.  It was awkward and awesome all at once.  No numbers were exchanged, just a very awkward “Have you met Shane?” moment.  Honestly, if a friend was nice enough to serve a potential date up on a platter, it’s not that hard to say, let’s hang out sometime or just go off somewhere a bit private to talk.  It doesn’t need to be awkward, but god was it funny.

After that exchange, we went back to the dance floor and stayed until 2:30.  I’ve never danced at Woody’s in my life, but it was nice to move around and not have to worry about bumping into people.  I enjoyed myself and I hope everyone else did too.  For some reason my date had a lot of energy as we left the bar and decided to do a cartwheel and run to my car.  It was something out of the movie Fame as we all ran to catch up (except for my friend who was being a stick in the mud I think).

As I drove everyone back home, we stopped to get some McDonald’s and take a bit of a breather.  By the time I dropped off everyone, it was 4 AM and I still had to head back to my home.  I had a lot of energy left surprisingly.  Probably because I didn’t start work until 4:30 and I was all energized from the dancing.  I got home at 5 AM and slept for 2 hours before dropping my parents off at the Airport.  Now I have house freedom!

I had a lot of fun and remembered what it was like to go to a bar and laugh and get to know people a bit.  But let’s not do it again until the summer.  I am not a party animal.

Leave a Reply

